The Cyclades is the most famous island group in the Aegean Sea. It is characterized by its unique barren landscape with isolated chapels, its traditional white and blue architecture, its gorgeous sandy beaches, folk music and fests, and its warm and hospitable people. Along with the Ionian Islands, Cyclades are considered the most popular destination for sailing vacations in Greece. 

The name “Cyclades” stems from the fact that the islands are forming a circle (the name in English means “circular islands”) around the sacred island of Delos. ​The Cylades Islands group consists of 39 islands which lie in close proximity to one another, making them the perfect destination for sailing holidays. Only the following 24 islands are inhabited all year round: Kea, Kythnos, Serifos, Sifnos, Milos, Kimolos, Andros, Tinos, Mykonos, Delos, Syros, Paros, Naxos, Ios, Donousa, Koufounisia, Iraklia, Shinousa, Amorgos, Santorini, Thirasia, Anafi, Sikinos, and Folegandros. The other smaller islands and islets are completely untouched and can only be reached by boat.


Sailing conditions are the most favorable from the beginning of June to the middle of July and in September, as winds around the Cyclades islands can get pretty strong towards the end of July and August.


You may start your sailing vacations in Cyclades from different marinas, according to yacht availability, flight schedules, charter duration and desired itineraries:

Marina Lavrion (Athens area)

Marina Alimos (Athens)

Marina Zeas (Athens)

Marina Agios Kosmas (Athens)

Marina Vouliagmeni (Athens)

Marina Paros (Cyclades)

Marina Mykonos (Cyclades)

Marina Santorini (Cyclades)